Making Wind Chimes!

Standard

IMG_1143

This weekend, my friends and I went to Edo Fuurin to learn how to make wind chimes. These wind chimes weren’t like the ones back at home with a cluster of pipes tied to a base. These were glass spheres that were blown using a furnace and then cut from the top to include a small hole. The hole is then sanded, but not sanded enough to be completely smooth. Then a pipe is tied under the hole, which creates the chime’s sound. Given the nature of this process, no two wind chimes are alike. Some are slightly larger than others, and most are sanded in different ways, giving each chime its own unique sound.

IMG_1138

I was surprised when I heard just how much work it takes to be in the wind chime business. Just learning how to blow the glass into a sphere properly typically takes three whole years to master. In addition, it takes up to 10 years to learn the entire process. Now that’s dedication! A few of us were concerned that we wouldn’t be able to make very good wind chimes, but of course, there were aids who assisted us through the process. Sure, our wind chimes weren’t perfect, but knowing no two wind chimes are alike, everyone was happy with their creations.

IMG_1173

After making our wind chimes, we were given a chance to paint our own designs. I don’t quite understand why, but we were only allowed to paint on the inside. Maybe it had something to do with affecting the sound of the wind chime. This made painting a little difficult, but I think mine still came out okay. I tried making a cute, little kitten!

After the wind chime workshop, a few of us stayed behind to hang out with James. James is a member of TUJ’s student government and is the most knowledgeable person I know when it comes to finding cool stuff around Japan. James took us to Oji, where there was an interesting building with a restaurant, shopping center, and arcade all in one. The food there was fantastic! The restaurant offered small platters for reasonable prices. I got the family bowl, which was a rice bowl with chunks of egg and chicken and an egg yolk with seasoning on top. It tasted really good, and I’m glad James knew about such a great place.

Of course, we couldn’t leave without visiting the arcade. I found Dance Dance Revolution, the greatest game ever created. My friend really wanted me to make a video playing the game while I was here, and I did not disappoint. I was definitely out of practice but still had a great time. We also tested out our skills on the crane games, which are a lot harder in Japan since most machines only hold one of each item. After 10 tries, I won my friend a giant chick. I’m glad I was able to at least get something.

Before I end my post, here are some more pictures of Tokyo Tower, this time from up close. My class ended half an hour early Tuesday, so I took the opportunity to finally venture over there. I got slightly lost on the way there since I am horrible with directions, but I didn’t mind. Along the way, I got to see many fancy buildings, the Australian Embassy, a temple, and even a mini park filled with animal statues. It was a fun afternoon. That’s all I have for this post, but I have several more exciting events coming up soon, so until then, Sayōnara from Japan!

One response »

  1. Now you have a new vocation you can fall back on. I don’t think there are to many wind chime makers in the USA.
    Love, Grandpop Mike

Leave a Reply

