Higurashi’s 10th Anniversary Event

Standard

IMG_0891This weekend, I ventured to Skytree for Higurashi’s 10th anniversary event. For those of you who don’t know what Higurashi is, it’s an amazing anime filled with likeable characters, lots of mystery, and some shocking twists. I don’t want to give too much of the plot away for the sake of spoilers, but I highly recommend it to all anime fans who are into the horror genre.

IMG_0840 - Copy

The event was located in Skytree’s main department store. The building was huge! I doubt I’ll see anything taller during the rest of my stay in Tokyo. It had some interesting stores too, like a store filled with samurai armor and a store full of banana-themed products. Luckily, the building was easy to navigate despite its size, and I was able to find the event without a problem.

The event itself was amazing! There must’ve been over a hundred screenshots of memorable scenes from the anime, and there was even some Higurashi fan art towards the end. Various scenes from Higurashi were depicted, including the Furude Shrine, the Oyashiro Festival, Hinamizawa River, and more. My favorite room by far was the classroom. Out of all of the rooms, it was the most accurately depicted and even had almost the exact items from the anime in each character’s locker. I was really impressed by the effort put into this event and was able to pick up quite a few souvenirs on the way out. I’m extremely glad I came and will be on the lookout for more events like these in the future.

As a side note, on Saturday, my friends took me to an udon place they found in Shinjuku. I’ve had soba a few times while I’ve been here, but never udon, so I was excited to go. It turns out I like udon much more than soba. I tried the curry udon, and it was fantastic! I’m glad my friends were able to find it because it was on the other side of Shinjuku from where I explored during my previous two visits. It seems like I discover something new every time I go there.

Yesterday, my group for Elements I prepared our script for our oral midterm. It’s shocking to me how quickly the time has passed. It doesn’t feel like I’ve been here long at all. I guess the old saying is true: “Time flies when you’re having fun.” Lucky for me, my friends and I have many more trips planned, both in and out of school, so I’ll be able to do plenty more as I approach the midpoint of the semester. Of course, you’ll hear about all of my adventures as they come along. Until then, Sayōnara from Japan!

Leave a Reply

