First few days in Tokyo

Standard

IMG_1591The Tokyo Tower at night. It is easy to see on the way back home.

 

IMG_3455My home sister Amanda was trying to practice kanji pronunciation in a Japanese bookstore.

 

IMG_3301 copyThe very first day of school. We were waiting for the orientation.

 

IMG_3304 copy

People were so excited to explore Tokyo! Emily, Julie, and Amanda were discussing which activity they should attend.

IMG_3327

Now I have to take this crowded train every morning as what salarymen do. Like now, I used to take early morning trains(subway) to school when I was in middle school in China. But we did not have a woman-only train at that time as Japan does.

 

IMG_3331 copy

Students took a tour on campus, and here is the study room.

IMG_3450 copyThe crowd of salary men and women are definitely one of the sights of Tokyo.

 

FullSizeRender 3 copyA jisou in the chief temple of Jodo-Buddhist (Zojoji).

 

IMG_3530 copyFinally we had a full view of Tokyo in the Tokyo Tower.

 

IMG_3415

Sinozaki-san and I

My host mother took me to a sushi restaurant. And this is when I noticed that matcha is commonly served in Japan. Thanks Amanda for taking this picture for me.

IMG_3592

My host mother made mochi (rice cake) for me this morning. She said this is what they eat during New Year.

 

Leave a Reply

