Fighting Homesickness

Standard

Konnichi wa everyone!

I hope this entry finds you well and worry-free.  Here? Not only did we reach the halfway marker of our study abroad but we are in the thick of midterm season here at TUJ.  So, needless to say, things are starting to get a bit hectic around here.  I cannot believe that we are at this point already though! How did time move so quickly?  It seems like only yesterday that I was landing in Narita Airport.  I hope the rest of the term will go slowly so I can enjoy every minute. I only have a few more months left in Japan and I am already feeling sad about my future departure.  On the other hand, having been here for almost 2 months, I am beginning to feel a bit homesick.

Of course, I miss my family and friends back home but one of the biggest things I have been missing is FOOD! Japanese food is delicious, do not get me wrong.  However, there are those little things from back home that I have been craving for weeks now.  To ward off homesickness, me and my friends have made a point of it to find (or make!) the food from home that we are missing the most.  This past week, my friend Kelly and I went on a mission to find burritos.  It is so crazy, because back home, I do not even like burritos!  However, it was the little slice of American-esque life for a day that cheered us up.

A burrito made in Japan! Who would have thought...

Another way that I have been warding off any terrible home sick-ness, besides talking to friends and family back home, is to really just have some time to myself.  Living in a dorm with 40 other people, getting squashed in a crowded train going to school, getting squashed in a crowded train coming home…there is always something going on! But taking the time to recharge and just be alone has been one of the most beneficial things for me.  It allows me to sort through my thoughts and just have some quiet for once.

Once I am done being by myself, surrounding myself with new friends has made my time here so much more enjoyable. We like to go shopping, talk about life back in the US, just anything interesting that happened during the day, and go to a Japanese favorite… Purikura.  Now, taking silly pictures in a photobooth may not fight off the blues for everyone, but it is a nice place to just laugh and document a day out with friends. Together, you can decorate them however you want!

I do not mean to get sappy here, but being here has definitely made me appreciate my family and friends back home as well as the little luxuries that I take for granted some times…like burritos. Even if I do miss home from time to time, I will surely make the best of the time I have left here.  Until next time!

Leave a Reply

